Leonidas Kavakos © Jan-Olav Wedin
Thu 28 Jan 2021 - Fri 29 Jan 2021

Dvořák’s Seventh

Leonidas Kavakos
28 Jan 2021
29 Jan 2021


conductor Leonidas Kavakos
Ligeti Concert Românesc | Haydn Symphony No. 82 ‘The Bear’ | Dvořák Symphony No. 7

An expectant melody that rises from the deepest regions of the orchestra: this is how Dvořák's masterly Seventh begins. ‘The theme came to me,’ the composer wrote, ‘when I saw the train from Hungary arriving at the station in Prague.’ Artist in Residence Leonidas Kavakos takes us with him on a long train journey: from the Romanian border, via Hungarian villages where bears dance, to the heart of Bohemia.

We make use of cookies. Cookies are small text files which are placed on your computer, tablet or telephone. In this way we ensure that our website works efficiently and that we can adapt our content to the interests of our visitors.
More about cookies