Rotterdams Philharmonisch Orkest

Yuja Wang meets Lahav Shani

Shostakovich's Second Piano Concerto & Rachmaninov's Symphonic Dances
Thu 30 Sep 2021 - Sun 3 Oct 2021
30 Sep 2021
3 Oct 2021


conductor Lahav Shani
piano Yuja Wang

Wantenaar Meander (world premiere)
Shostakovich Second Piano Concerto
Rachmaninov Symphonic Dances

Amid the mountainous landscape of his other works, Shostakovich's Second Piano Concerto is a lovely flower meadow, playful, tender and light-footed. Only the middle section: played by star pianist Yuja Wang, it belongs, according to The Guardian, 'to the most beautiful thing Shostakovich ever wrote'. This Andante sounds like an ode to Rachmaninov, who gets the last word here with his delightful Symphonic Dances.

Introduction on Thursday and Friday at 7:15 pm and on Sunday at 1:15 pm by Emanuel Overbeeke.

Programme Notes


top rank €68 | 1st rank €58 | 2nd rank €45 | 3rd rank €27 | up and until 26 years old and CJP €10


We use cookies and similar techniques to analyze the use of the website, to make it possible to display third-party content such as videos, for marketing activities and for various other applications. These cookies are also placed by third parties. By clicking “Yes, I accept”, you agree. If you do not agree, you can specify your preferences via the "Adjust settings" button. More information…

Cookies are required for the website to function properly. This way the content of your shopping cart will be remembered during the order and you can log in on the website with your account.

Cookies are also needed to enrich your experience on the website. For example, media from third parties such as videos. We also keep statistics to continuously improve the site.

Finally, cookies are used to process further information about our marketing activities, such as newsletters and advertisements, in the most efficient and personal way.

Click here for our cookie policy.

Cookie settings