Rotterdams Philharmonisch Orkest

John Adams conducts Adams, Glass and Reich

The big three of American (post-)minimalism
Fri 15 Oct 2021 - Sat 16 Oct 2021
15 Oct 2021
16 Oct 2021


conductor John Adams
piano Katia en Marielle Labèque

Reich Three Movements
Glass Concert for Two Pianos
Adams Naive and Sentimental Music (revised)

Everything that makes music a party seemed to have been exchanged for sterile academicism after the Second World War. Until in the 1970s a young generation of American composers (with Reich, Glass and Adams as the Big Three) stormed onto the stage as a music liberation front. Half a century later it is still a joy to listen to them, as John Adams himself comes to us as a conductor. 

Interview met John Adams

Programme Notes

Download programme notes as PDF


top rank €68 | 1st rank €58 | 2nd rank €45 | 3rd rank €27 | up and until 26 years old and CJP €10


We use cookies and similar techniques to analyze the use of the website, to make it possible to display third-party content such as videos, for marketing activities and for various other applications. These cookies are also placed by third parties. By clicking “Yes, I accept”, you agree. If you do not agree, you can specify your preferences via the "Adjust settings" button. More information…

Cookies are required for the website to function properly. This way the content of your shopping cart will be remembered during the order and you can log in on the website with your account.

Cookies are also needed to enrich your experience on the website. For example, media from third parties such as videos. We also keep statistics to continuously improve the site.

Finally, cookies are used to process further information about our marketing activities, such as newsletters and advertisements, in the most efficient and personal way.

Click here for our cookie policy.

Cookie settings